App Store subscriptions can now charge more without explicit permission

The change took effect recently, so if you’ve been thinking about unsubscribing from a service you don’t use often or can’t afford, do so. Otherwise, you may automatically be charged more in the future.

Apple users beware. A change in the subscription policy of Application Store now allows creators to apps start charging more for services without explicit permission. The change took effect recently, so if you’ve been thinking about unsubscribing from a service you don’t use often or can’t afford, do so. Otherwise, you may automatically be charged more in the future. Thanks, Apple!

Apple’s auto-renewable subscriptions can save you a lot of time, especially if you’re paying for a lot of services. But Cupertino recently updated its policy, and if you’re on a tight budget, you should be even more careful from now on.

Numa Publication, the Cupertino company has announced that now if the price of a subscription increases and certain criteria are met, developers will be able to automatically charge the next period without forcing you to opt for the service again. Regarding the specific conditions for this to happen, Apple said that:

  1. The price increase should only occur once a year.
  2. It must not exceed $5 and 50% of the subscription fee (or $50 and 50% for an annual membership price) and must be permitted by local law.

Apple will of course notify you in advance of the price increase. If you wish, it will also tell you how to view, manage and cancel your subscriptions.

It is important to know that for all subscription price increases above the thresholds, which exceed the annual limit, or which occur in territories where required by law, the subscription will not be automatically renewed. In this case, you must manually register for the service before the increase takes effect.

Previously, when there was a price increase, Apple would notify you of the price change. You were automatically excluded from the service, and you had to manually choose to re-subscribe if you wanted to continue paying for the application in question. But, according to Apple, this method led to the involuntary interruption of services. That’s why the Cupertino company decided to introduce the new policy: now, if you’re willing to pay the highest price, you don’t have to do anything. The service will continue to operate.

Of course, chances are you’ll miss Apple’s opt-out notifications or forget to cancel your subscription in time before the price change takes effect. Presumably, that’s why the Cupertino company decided to set a limit. Also, in most cases, you can unsubscribe at any time, so if you forget to unsubscribe when the time comes, at worst, you’ll lose a few bucks.

Read the latest news from the world of technology on Google News, Facebook and Twitter and also in our Telegram group

Every day we bring you dozens of news about the Android world in Portuguese. Follow us on Google News. Click on here then Follow. Thank you!

Leave a Comment