LE BALLON – Formula E: Félix da Costa 2nd in Marrakech (Auto Race)

António Félix da Costa achieved the best result of the year in the Formula E World Championship, finishing the 10th round of the season in 2nd position, after starting it on pole, behind the Swiss driver Edoardo Mortara, of Venturi Racing, which won for the 3rd time. in 2022 and takes control of the championship. In Marrakech, Morocco, the Portuguese scored 21 points and went from 10th to 6th place in the standings, 6 ePrix at the end of the season (2 in New York, 2 in London and 2 in Seoul).

Félix da Costa, in the 90th Formula E ePrix, achieved the 1st podium of the year and the 15th podium in a category in which he won the title in 2019/20. The Portuguese driver wanted to win at the Circuit Automobile International de Moulay El Hassan, but the fact that he had a team partner in the fight for the championship (Jean-Éric Vergne) limited him, with a command of the DS Techeetah giving way to the French in the middle of the race with 45 minutes (plus 1 lap).

Vergne never managed to threaten Mortara’s lead and DS Techeetah slowed Félix da Costa’s pace and DS Techeetah ordered another exchange of positions between drivers, in an attempt to get the Portuguese past the Swiss, but the action did not go well either. , due to the delay accumulated by António behind the Frenchman, who finished the race in 4th position, behind the New Zealander Mitch Evans, of Jaguar.

The fight for victory in the World Championship remains open with 6 races in 3 weekends and 15 points separating the first 4 in the championship. Edoardo Mortara took over from Stoffel Vandoorne at the top of the table. Still among the teams, a new commander: Venturi Racing,

Marrakech ePrix ranking:

1st Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Racing, 34 Volt

2nd ANTÓNIO FÉLIX DA COSTA, DS Techeetah, +2,297s

3.º Mitch Evans, Jaguar, +6,270s

4.º Jean-Éric Vergne, DS Techeetah, +6.695s

5.º Lucas di Grassi, Venturi Racing, +7,787 s

6.º Nyck de Vries, Mercedes-EQ, +8.394 s

7.º Jake Dennis, Andretti, +12,084 s

8.º Stoffel Vandoorne, Mercedes-EQ, +14.541 s

9.º Sam Bird, Jaguar, +15.048 s

10.º Oliver Rowland, Mahindra, +15,270s

11.º Oliver Askew, Andretti, +16.336s

12th Pascal Wehrlein, Porsche, +30.043s

13.º Nick Cassidy, Envision Racing, +31.970s

14.º Alexander Sims, Mahindra, +32,332s

15.º André Lotterer, Porsche, +32.364 s

16.º Sebastien Buemi, Nissan, +33.707s

17.º Oliver Turvey, NIO 333, +35,018 s

18.º Robin Frijns, Envision Racing, +35.686s

19th Antonio Giovinazzi, Dragon / Penske, +40.887s

20th Sérgio Sette Câmara, Dragon/Penske, +42,764s

21st Maximilian Günther, Nissan, Retired

22.o Dan Ticktum, NIO 333, Abandoned

Drivers’ World Cup:

1st Edoardo Mortara, 139 points

2.º Jean-Éric Vergne, 128 pontos

3rd Stoffel Vandoorne, 125 points

4th Mitch Evans, 124 points

5.º Robin Frijns, 81 bridges


7.º Nyck de Vries, 73 points

8th Lucas di Grassi, 66 points

9th André Lotterer, 61 points

10th Pascal Wehrlein, 55 pontos

11th Jake Dennis, 42 points

12th Sam Bird, 31 points

13th Nick Cassidy, 16 points

14th Oliver Rowland, 11 points

15th Sebastien Buemi, 10 points

16th Olivier Turvey, 6 points

17th Oliver Askew, 2 points

18th Alexander Sims, 2 points

19th Maximilien Gunther, 2 points

20th Dan Ticktum, 1 point

21st Sergio Sette Camara, 0 points

22.º Antonio Giovinazzi, 0 bridges

Team World Cup:

1st Venturi Race, 205 points

2nd DS Techeetah, 203 points

3rd Mercedes-EQ, 198 points

4th Jaguar, 155 points

5th Porsche, 116 points

6th Envision Racing, 97 points

7th Andretti, 44 points

8th Mahindra, 13 points

9th Nissan, 12 points

10th NIO 333, 7 points

11th Dragon/Penske, 0 points

Leave a Comment